WWE News: Triple H Reveals 7 Names For Crusierweight Tournament

In a bid to increase programming on WWE Network; WWE revealed earlier this year a 10 week special tournament featuring the top crusierweight. 32 of the world’s best crusierweight wrestlers will take part in a huge tournament to crown the best cruiserweight in the world. Given the recent nature of NXT, WWE hopes to pull talent from all over the world. During a conference call for WWE NXT Takeover: Dallas, Triple H revealed the first seven entrants to the tournament.

  • Rich Swann (WWE developmental talent)
  • Zack Sabre Jr. (Evolve/Independent)
  • Tommaso Ciampa (special deal with NXT)
  • Noam Dar (European Independent)
  • Johnny Gargano (special deal with NXT)
  • Ho Ho Lun (Japanese Independent)
  • Akira Tozawa (Dragon Gate).

Of the names announced, Noam Darr is a Scottish wrestler who took part in TNA: British BootCamp season 2. He reached the finals of the competition before losing to Mark Andrews. Darr is a fantastic high flyer with brilliant British wrestling style. Zack Sabre Jr, is also British and is booked to face Kurt Angle on June 26th in London. Zack is known to be a brilliant British wrestler.

WWE will tape the entire tournament the week of June 20th at Full Sail University, and the tapings will last five days. The show Global Cruiserweight Series is currently scheduled to debut on the WWE Network on July 13th. The tournament will run for 10-episodes, and will feature 32, 205 pound competitors.

Triple H also revealed that several British promotions will host qualifying matches to determine some of the competitors. Promotions linked with the show are EVOLVE, PROGRESS Wrestling and Revolution Pro Wrestling.

Keep checking The Dirty Deeds for any future updates on the tournament. Are there any crusierweight you want to see wrestle?

About Lucas Murrin 380 Articles
Lucas is a writer for The Dirty Deeds, a wrestling news website. Previously writer for WrestlingNewsDepot, Lucas is passionaite about Wrestling, Travelling and Music

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply